RSS

An In-Depth Reflection of My Lesson

24 Mar

 

After reviewing the video on my introductory lesson about Old Man and the Sea, I have learned much about my own style, collaborating with teachers, and working with high school students.  The day a gave my lesson was the first day the students met with us; the video makes it evident that they were slowly getting adjusted to the instructional environment in the Media Center.  Reviewing the lesson, I made notes about my strengths and weaknesses when teaching and reflected on the effectiveness of introductory assessment strategies.  The video, for the most part, informs the viewer of instructional activities, the process of events, and minor assessments involved in the lesson, and I feel as if I followed my lesson plan well.

Even though the students did not know me, I feel that one of my strengths during the lesson was interacting with individual students and making efforts to make them comfortable with me as an instructor.  I walked around, asked questions, tried to give words of encouragement, and practiced empathy when working with our small group.  It is evident the students were not entirely comfortable in their environment, but I felt this behavior was to be expected since our session was not part of their regular daily schedule.  Also, I have noticed that the more they meet with us, the more willing they are to talk and participate freely in our instructional activities (since my lesson was the introduction to an ongoing collaborative effort).  Some areas for improvement in my lesson would be to speak more loudly and clearly, but I felt limited by the multiple functions being conducted in the library.  During my lesson, teachers were doing Lock Down training on the other side of the library, so I was trying my best to teach well and also not be disruptive.  The video reveals that I was quite formal in my presentation of the material.  If I had the opportunity to reteach this lesson, I would maintain a more casual tone that I believe the students would find more engaging. 

I felt the minor assessment methods used during this session were appropriate for an introductory lesson.  After I presented a certain amount of information, I would ask questions related to the material.  For the most part, the students demonstrated an understanding and insightful perception of the information; it was evident they were listening closely and absorbing the material.  I did notice that they seemed hesitant to answer, but I believe that was the result of insecurities associated with starting something new in a different environment.  We will use more in-depth, quantitative and qualitative assessment methods as our group continues to meet with us, but I felt these simple questions worked well as introductory assessments.  Some of our upcoming assessment methods include blog writing, discussion responses, an Old Man and the Sea game, a graphic novel project, and a final short essay test.

I learned so much about my own teaching methods and working with students through teaching this lesson and reviewing the video, and I have noticed even more progress in my interaction with students since then.  Next time I teach, I feel as if I will have much more confidence in interacting with students and a stronger grasp on what assessment methods are most effective for each unique collaborative effort.

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 24, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment