RSS

Teaching in the Media Center

23 Mar

I want to start out by saying that I could not have imagined a better opportunity to teach my first lesson in the Media Center.  I got to experience so many aspects of the job: collaborating with another teacher, incorporated technology into the classroom, working in a small group setting, and adapting to the multiple needs of the School Media Center.

My lesson was an introduction to Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway. My group of seven freshman students separated from the rest of the class (who will be reading Young Man and the Sea) and will be reading through the book with me and my supervisor.  To introduce them to the text, we started out with an activity, presented basic information about the novel, watched a YouTube video illustrating the book, and did a read-aloud session until the class was over.  The students will continue to meet with us during second period (9:30 – 11:05) over the next two to three weeks.

Overall, I felt my lesson went well.  I was discouraged by the students’ lack of enthusiasm, but my supervisor reassured me that I did an excellent job.  We have met with the students once more since my lesson, and it comforts me to observe they are slowly getting used to working with us and seem to be “opening up” more.  I think the more we meet with the students the more they will participate in our lessons.  There will be more updates to come on our progress!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 23, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment